Mobile Site ›

Fungal Molecular Diagnostics

Ribosomal Structure: Fungi

Slide 12

February 2011

In this slide, I have depicted the ribosomal structural unit for fungi. The major RNA transcript is a repeating unit consisting of the small subunit 18S RNA gene, the 5.8S RNA gene, the large subunit 25-28S RNA gene, and finally the 5S RNA gene. The 18S, 5.8S, and 28S genes are separated by the internal transcribed spacer or ITS region. The most commonly used targets for fungal sequencing in the clinical laboratory today are the D1-D2 region of the 28S subunit and the ITS region. My laboratory has chosen to use the D2 region as our primary sequencing target for fungi.

Ribosomal Structure: Fungi


Jump to section: