Mobile Site ›

Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia

New Approaches for a Common Disease

Diagnostic Criteria: CLL, MBL, and SLL

Slide 10

October 2008

This bar graph highlights the key numeric cup points that one might encounter in the clinical laboratory and how they fit into the new IWCLL diagnostic criteria. An ALC count of 3 times 10 to the ninth per liter, or 3,000, is the upper limit of normal for a peripheral blood lymphocyte count. The 5 times 10 to the ninth per liter or 5,000 ALC mark indicates the previous cup point defining CLL while the 5 times 10 to the ninth per liter, or 5,000, B-cell count defines the new IWCLL cut off for diagnosing CLL versus MBL. Please note that from left to right one would encounter those cases that would be called MBL with no increase in lymphocytes. Those cases with an ALC between 3,000 and 5,000 would be MBL associated with a lymphocytosis, and those between a 5,000 ALC and a 5,000 B-cell count would represent those cases previously called CLL which would now be reclassified as MBL.

One should also note that SLL may be diagnosed in any case with less than 5,000 B-cells depending on the presence and the prominence of lymphadenopathy and organomegaly.

Diagnostic Criteria: CLL, MBL, and SLL


Jump to section: